Apple Co-Founder Steve Wozniak Unveils PineApple, an Apple Competitor

SAN FRANCISCO—Following Friday’s unveiling of the much un-anticipated PineApple, a bemused tech press is left scratching its head over Steve Wozniak’s next big idea.

Wozniak, who co-founded tech giant Apple in a garage along with his pal Steve Jobs, is going head-to-head with his old company with his new startup, dubbed PineApple. Apple was named after Newton’s apple, which disrupted his thought process and led to his development of the theory of gravity. PineApple is a fruit of a different color, its spiky exterior giving no hint of the sweetness within.

Why PineApple?

Wozniak replied, “I thought, why can’t a pineapple make history too? We need more variety in our tech diet.”

The tech legend has long supported social causes, and there is much speculation on what, specifically, the new startup will do: is it computers? gadgets? a nonprofit of some kind? Wozniak took several years off to return to school and qualify as a schoolteacher, so no doubt there is a lesson in it for all of us, somewhere.

Somewhere past that spiky exterior.

For now, we have twitter.com/WhatsPineApple, facebook.com/WhatsPineApple, and the mysterious website WhatsPineApple.com. And this:

https://vine.co/v/ijKHm2EVHII/embed/postcard

Official video presentation: twitter.com/WhatsPineApple at 11.30am BST – 06:30am EDT- 03:30am PDT 06:30pm CST (China). A leaked teaser: on Vine.

Steve Wozniak will reveal all in a personal presentation at Manchester’s Business Rocks conference, April 21-22.

____________________________________________
Follow The Gad About Town on Facebook! Subscribe today for daily facts (well, trivia) about literature and history, plus links to other writers on Facebook.

Follow The Gad About Town on Instagram!

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Advertisements

3 comments

  1. TBlack · April 5, 2016

    Never seen an April Fool’s joke before, huh?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Marketing the Unmarketable: The PineApple Case Study | The Gad About Town

Please comment here. Thank you, Mark.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s